The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson


photo via under the creative commons

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest is the third book in the Millennium series.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest is the third book in the Millennium series and the last book to be written by Stieg Larsson. It was published in May of 2007 in Swedish, republished in 2009 in English, and a movie was made in 2010. For more information about the author and the book series, revert back to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo article.

The book picks up where The Girl Who Played with Fire left off with Lisbeth being flown to a hospital. She lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit which is under guard. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she’ll be taken to stand trial for three murders.

She was once the victim, now she is fighting back. With the help of Mikael Blomkvist, she will not only have to prove her innocence but also identify those who have allowed the vulnerable, like herself, to suffer abuse and violence. With all of this, she will also plot revenge against the man who tried to kill her and the corrupt government institutions that nearly destroyed her.

I’m not going to apologize for the way I’ve led my life.”

— Quote from the book

Larsson writes about a dark and humorless world that seems like a place that could never exist, yet the good guys always prevail in the end. The second book brings the action back to a place somewhat resembling reality after the second book was kind of out there and not totally realistic.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest was listed at the top of Amazon’s bestseller list before arriving in bookstores, which is extremely unusual for an English-language book in translation.

Even though the book is over 500 pages long, and it seems daunting, the book is a quick read. Most of the book is explaining things and talking about the little details, some of which the book could have done without, but done of it takes away from how great the book actually is. This book is also not a PG-rated book, there are still parts that are rated R and people who struggle with things like this should take caution.

After reading the three books it makes you wonder what could have happened if Larsson had lived and he had written all ten books that he had planned. It makes you think about what could have happened with all the characters, and what he was building up to in the end. Nonetheless, the books are continued, just by a different author and the story lives on, just through another person’s words.

This book is one of my favorite reads and if you enjoyed the first two books, then you should read this book.

You can find this book on Amazon.

Alyssa Gehrke
I would give this story 10 out of 10 for their work